As a US company, we comply with Office of Foreign Assets Control ("OFAC") sanctions. The OFAC is a division of the US Department of the Treasury that administers and enforces economic and trade sanctions based on US foreign policy and national security goals against targeted foreign countries and regimes, terrorists, international narcotics traffickers, those engaged in activities related to the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, and other threats to the national security, foreign policy or economy of the United​ States. Through our partner Simplirisk we maintain broad-based and oriented geographically (i.e. Cuba, Iran) as well as "targeted" restrictions on all banned countries, individuals, and entities.

OFAC banned countries

Users and traffic from the following countries are banned for Redeeem:

  • Burundi
  • Central African Republic Sanctions
  • Cuba
  • Crimea region
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • North Korea
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan-related Sanctions
  • Sudan and Darfur
  • Syria
  • Yemen

OFAC grey/high-risk countries

Users from these countries have to verify their ID before they can send out or sell bitcoin:

  • Albania
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Republic of Congo
  • Croatia (Hrvatska)
  • Kosovo
  • Macedonia
  • Montenegro
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Venezuela
  • Zimbabwe

Additionally, as we fully co-operate with all OFAC and Specially Designated Nationals (SDN) and Blocked persons lists, we block individuals who threaten international stabilization efforts as defined by OFAC in the regions of:

  • Balkans
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo-Related
  • Western Balkans area and Belarus as part of Ukraine-/Russia-Related Sanctions
  • Venezuela related sanctions
  • Zimbabwe related sanctions
Did this answer your question?